Allow me to introduce myself… and what the heck I’m doing here!

I guess a lot of people go through phases of pondering whether or not to start a blog. I think my preoccupation with the idea has come from being a generally obsessive person, and of course I mean that in the best possible way! I’ve always been prone to intense obsessive phases; stumbling upon one particular area of fascination, discovering a deep and abiding passion for it, ferociously researching all I that can about it and then, when I finally have nothing left, moving on to the next thing. It’s just how I’ve always been.

The other day, when I showed my Mother a photo of the actress whose life and career I’m currently enthralled in (the beautiful classic actress Greer Garson), I rhetorically asked her “Why? WHY, Mum, am I so obsessive?! Is it something in my genes?” but alas she’s always been as baffled as I am. “I don’t know,” she said. “Poor Greer. You’ll just chew her up and spit her out like you have all the rest of them!” Haha! She was only semi-joking, of course, it’s never as cold as that and I really do love them all but it’s hard when the actors I tend to become attached to have all long since passed away. When you’ve seen all there is to see of their performances, you just have to move on, otherwise you’re watching the same things over and over when there’s still a whole vast world of film out there just waiting to be explored! That’s just how I roll.

So I think you may have gathered by now that Classic Film is my great love.

I had my first real encounter with it when I was in high school (I’m 27 now) and I saw a Katharine Hepburn movie late one night on TV. My Mum was watching it in the lounge and I was in my bedroom when I heard the most raucous laughter emanating through the walls! When I went out to see what all the fuss was about, what I saw was so funny that I stayed for the rest of the film, eyes glued to the screen. It was hilarious and I was in awe of how truly brilliant this “old” movie was! The film was Bringing Up Baby (1938) and to this day it’s still the funniest movie I’ve ever seen!

Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn in 'Bringing Up Baby' (1938)
Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn in ‘Bringing Up Baby’ (1938)

But I only really fell in love with Classic Hollywood years later during my University years. I was doing a Bachelor of Creative Arts with the intention of studying theatre as I had in high school however you couldn’t just take theatre, you had to choose other areas of the arts as well. I chose Literature and Cinema Studies and within the first two years of my course, I’d been completely won over by film, and theatre was fast becoming a mere background interest. Funny how life works. In my second year I took a class entitled “Classic Hollywood” and from then on theatre had no hope at all. I adored that class and was completely dazzled by the glittering black and white images on the screen in front of me. Not only that, but the history behind it. It wasn’t enough to just watch a film!

I still love theatre, though I haven’t done a production in years, but film and film history has become an fierce passion of mine and through it, also vintage fashion.

But before I bore you with my whole life story, I want to tell you what my blog will be about. At the moment, I’m envisioning a place where I can come to talk about Classic film with others who love it too, in the form of film reviews and discussions, fun facts and random ponderings with a little fan-girling (or boying) over our favourite stars thrown in for good measure; because who doesn’t love a good crazy fan-girl moment?! On occasion I’d also like to share some of my vintage fashion in the form of outfit posts, awesome finds, op-shopping (thrifting) tips and the occasional vintage fashion tip, though I do not profess to be an expert; far from it. I consider myself still learning! But we’re all always learning, aren’t we?

Me in a vintage 1950s swing coat.
Me in a vintage 1950s swing coat.

Basically, I wanted to create an outlet to write about what I love. I’ve completed my University degree after purposefully dragging it out for a total of 5 1/2 years (under the guise of part time study due to needing more time to work and earn money but really I just loved it and dreaded the day it would end!) so now I need a reason to keep writing and I hope that you’ll join me.

Feel free to drop me a line anytime, I hope you like my posts (or at least I hope it sparks some passionate opinions) and together we’ll see where this unknown road leads us…

“Enthusiasm is one of life’s great blessings, and I think it’s somewhat contagious.” ~ The Great and Wise Bette Davis

Bye for now!

Jessica-Ellen X

Comment Notice3

4 thoughts on “Allow me to introduce myself… and what the heck I’m doing here!

  1. Hi Jessica-Ellen! I was wondering if you could tell me more about how you were able to view Letty Lynton? I am working on a thesis project that involves the ruffle dress and would love to here how you gained access to it.

    Like

    1. Hi Sarah! I used it in my thesis too! I actually downloaded it from a torrent a few years ago but unfortunately the torrent disappeared not long after. It’s very hard to find but I suggest just scouring the Internet as much as you can and keep asking other classic film lovers. So sorry I couldn’t help. Good luck in finding it and good luck with your thesis =)

      Like

  2. It’s wonderful Jessica Ellen! You should be very proud of your blog and I’m sure many people would agree and happily follow you! Love the coat! Wonder where you got that ha ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

